Netlabelism Cast 20 – Trip Hop Mix

Trip Hop, Electronica, Bass Music

Lush layers of glittering guitars interwoven with reversed loops, piano, synth lines, simple yet very effective. Nisei23’s album entitled elevenandtweleve was improvised entirely on an iPhone. Impressive creations on a single hand-held device and another quality release on the Rec72 Netlabel. A moodier affair by The Get entitled The Darkness comprises of heavy bass swells and luminous highs. IDMf forums netlabel is a treasure trove of excellent music. Curating compilations is a serious endeavour and the crew at IDMf Netlabel have it sorted.

Mr.WoodsThe Chase begins with brass and breakbeats, Avalanches style, with stabs of turntabelism and surging brass, featuring Mononome, Jenova 7 & Mr. Moods all from the Dusted Wax Kingdom record label., execution is the key and they certainly nail it.

Bright by Teishi-1 is influenced by old school eletro, chiptunes, grime, and dubstep. The sounds of the legendary Roland TR series drum machines and the feel of old school Akai samplers are interwoven with melodic keys. I’m looking forward to more releases from Teishi-1 and Boy Scout Audio Netlabel.

Falling Fog by Zygadenus indulges in low frequency debauchery. Progressing into a wave of pads and spaced out stabs. Entropeia – Hors La Loi is a bouncier number with eastern strings and a generous helping of guitar and vocals, it’s followed by minimal dub techno reverberations by Mekha. A fine lesson in bass that stays firm to the Cut Records mantra. Black Chamber – Difference Engine is somewhat melancholic, the accent to the horn solo, interspersed with glitchy drums is great. Northcape’s album Exploration and Ascent will be one of my Top 10 picks from 2013. Folk who get excited about BOC releases will appreciated and love Exploration and Ascent on the SunSeaSky Netlabel

I hope you enjoy the mix, please leave comments or contact me by email warren [at]


Cast 20 is mixed by Warren Daly, Free download on


Artist – Track – Label

  1. nisei23 – levenandtwelve – Rec72
  2. The Get – The Darkness – IDMf
  3. Mr Woods – The Chase – Mr Woods
  4. Teishi-1 – Bright – Boy Scout Audio
  5. Zygadenus – Falling Fog – IDMf
  6. Mr.Woods – Spirit Flower feat Hal McMillen – Mr Woods
  7. Entropeia – Hors La Loi – Entropeia
  8. Dub-I – Lion Dub
  9. Mekha – Coma (Emmerichk Remix Featuring Snowflake) – Cut Records
  10. Fire Salad – Plantation (bonus)
  11. Black Chamber – Difference Engine – Cult Classic Records
  12. Mekha – Ekoladen (Plug Remix Featuring MegaZimze) – Cut
  13. Northcape – The First Crossing Of The Watershed – SunSeaSky
  14. Black Chamber – Red Dawn – Cult Classic Records


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *